top of page

Authentic is "it"


The "real deal" is the thing! To get students able to navigate the real world with their German language, we need to give them "real" German to work with. But what counts as "real"? The easiest way to determine if a resource is authentic is to ask yourself a couple of questions.

1) Was this created by a German native?

Sounds simple, right? Except those of us who aren't native speakers of German may often fall into the trap of thinking what we create for our students is done with the intent to feed them the input they need. I mean, how can I get the vocabulary that I want them to work with if I don't make it myself? But this isn't how the real world works!!! I don't run to the dicitonary to find a random set of words to then force into my conversation. No, the words I NEED to convey my MEAN will come organically, and if there is something I then need to ENHANCE that meaning is what I look up. This is what we do intuitively as native users of our own language, and that is they type of authenticity we need to search for and share with our students. That is why we should make sure that the resouces we use have the most organic and natural language possible, and that is most likely coming from a German native speaker.

2) Was it created FOR a German native?

This is the "real" stuff! If the target audience is an academic learner of German, then already the language will be changed and the authenticity of the item is diminished. Search out items that are created with the native German in mind. This is what we need to find and use in our classrooms and help expose our students to the actual German that THEY WANT to learn to use!!

I know, this all sounds great, but who has time? Where do I start? I need help!!!!

Well, for starters, we need to share with each other!! Follow the AATG Facebook group, find other Facebook groups devoted to these same principles (Wir Unterrichten AP Deutsch is one I follow). Check out Pinterest and search through what other German teachers have already started saving and sharing. Follow me on Pinterest, Facebook, & Twitter for ideas! I'll follow you right back. Its a jungle out there, but we can help each other navigate through it easier. @uberfrauMolnar or danathegermanteacher@gmail.com

Have a great resource to share? Created a lesson or activity that others could benefit from? Have a topic of interest to other German teachers that you would like to share? Contact us about becoming a guest blogger!!!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page